On Friday, Vermont Governor Peter Shumlin will sign the state’s National Popular Vote bill into law. The National Popular Vote plan is a nationwide effort to award the presidency to the winner of the national popular vote, bypassing the Electoral College.

Vermont joins the District of Columbia (who passed it in October), along with Hawaii, Illinois, Massachusetts, Maryland, New Jersey, and Washington.

However, the Agreement Among the States to elect the President by National Popular Vote will only take effect when it has been approved by enough
states to guarantee that the majority of Electoral College votes would go the winner of the national popular vote. Learn more about the National Popular Vote.

(Image source)


Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply